Campaign leadership

The campaign to endow The Costas Grammenos International Centre for Shipping, Trade and Finance has been led by an Executive Committee, chaired by the Right Honourable, The Lord Mayor of the City of London.

The Executive Committee has included some of the most successful and respected practitioners in The Centre's fields of specialism.

International leader figures in shipping, logistics and energy trade and finance have united to support the campaign and to enlist the support of others.

Campaign Executive Committee Members:

  • Ahmed Buhari
  • Epaminondas Embiricos
  • Richard Gillingwater
  • Stelios Haji-Ioannou
  • Christian P. Hinneberg
  • Sadan Kaptanoglu
  • Stathes Kulukundis
  • George Lassados
  • Paola Mattioli
  • David Moorhouse
  • Christian von Oldershausen
  • Basil Papachristidis
  • Spyros Polemis
  • Captain Gerald Seow
  • Ole Slorer
  • Martin Stopford
  • Nikolas Tsakos
  • Andreas Tsavliris
  • Lambros Varnavides

The following organisations and individuals have been associated with the campaign:

  • Chairman, Baltic Exchange
  • Greek Shipping Cooperation Committee
  • Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach: Vice-Chairman, Goldham Sachs
  • Lord Levene of Portsoken: Chairman, Lloyd's of London
  • Efthymios Mitropoulos: Secretary General, International Maritime Organisation
  • Spyros M. Polemis, Chairman, International Chamber of Shipping


Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach, Vice-Chairman, Goldham Sachs and former Head of the Prime Ministers Policy Unit 1988-1990

"The Centre, has after 21 years, exceeded all expectations. That it has established itself as a world class institution is a tribute to Costas Grammenos' able leadership, to his love of students, to his complete integrity and to his great respect for colleagues, and for those who work in the world of shipping and business as a whole."