About our leadership

Bayes Business School is led by an outstanding team of academic and professional staff. Together, we work to transform Bayes to ensure we emerge from the pandemic and our name change stronger than ever.

Meet the Bayes leadership team

Dean: Andre Spicer

Professor Andre SpicerAndre Spicer is Professor of Organisational Behaviour. He is an expert in leadership, corporate social responsibility and organisational theory. As Dean of Bayes, he focuses on strategic oversight of the School, faculty issues, working with the wider university, and representing Bayes in many external forums. He is a member of City University's senior leadership team. He previously led the Faculty of Management, the largest department at the University. Andre joined Bayes in 2011 and took up the role of Dean in January 2022.

Deputy Dean: Professor Caroline Wiertz

Caroline Wiertz is Professor of Marketing with an expertise in digital and social media marketing. She is one of two Deputy Deans at Bayes. Her remit includes stakeholder engagement (i.e., communications, events, alumni, fundraising), entrepreneurship, and diversity, equity and inclusion. Caroline led our School through its name change in 2020/21 and now works to further develop and embed the Bayes brand into everything we do. Prior to becoming Deputy Dean, she served two terms as Associate Dean for Entrepreneurship and as Head of the Marketing Group. Caroline joined Bayes in 2004. This is her first term as Deputy Dean, and it ends in June 2023.

Deputy Dean: Professor Richard Payne

Richard Payne is Professor of Finance with research and teaching interests in asset pricing, market structure and quantitative trading. He is the Deputy Dean at Bayes with responsibility for academic programmes. He previously served as Associate Dean for UG Programmes, having designed and led UG and MSc programmes at Bayes, Warwick, and Bristol. Rich joined Bayes in 2010. This is his first term as Deputy Dean, and it ends in October 2023.

Chief Operating Officer: Paul Long

Paul Long is the Chief Operating Officer at Bayes. His responsibilities cover the non-academic functions within the School, including financial planning, student administration, recruitment and general support services. Paul joined City in 2009 as COO of The City Law School and became COO of Bayes in 2016. Prior to this he held a number of senior positions in the telecommunications industry in the UK, the Netherlands, Italy and the Czech Republic.

Head of Faculty – Actuarial Science and Insurance: Professor Ben Rickayzen

Ben Rickayzen is Professor of Actuarial Science with research interests in the field of health insurance, and in particular the area of long-term care for the elderly. He teaches the core actuarial subjects of Financial and Investment Mathematics, and Life Contingencies. Ben joined the University in 1994. He became Head of the Faculty of Actuarial Science and Insurance in 2008 and is due to step down in the summer of 2022.

Head of Faculty – Finance: Professor Ian Marsh

Ian Marsh is Professor of Finance with wide research interests spanning exchange rate forecasting, the efficiency of derivatives markets and the effect of public mood on asset returns. He teaches International Finance to UG and MSc students and has served as course director of undergraduate finance degrees, the MSc in Finance program, and the PhD in Finance. Ian joined Bayes in the last millennium. He has been the Head of the Faculty of Finance since January 2020 and is due to step down in the summer of 2022.

Head of Faculty – Management (Interim): Professor Amit Nigam

Amit Nigam is Professor of Management with research that focuses on understanding processes of organisational and system-level change. His research in particular focuses on communication and conflict within and across professions in change processes, with an emphasis on change in healthcare. His teaching focuses on offering guidance to leaders on how to manage change processes and build healthy teams and organizations. Amit joined Bayes in 2013. His term as interim Head of Faculty ends in July 2022.

Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion: Professor Lilian de Menezes

Lilian M. de Menezes is Professor of Decision Sciences and the Head of the Operations and Supply Chain Management Group within the Faculty of Management. Her research and teaching interests focus on statistical, mathematical modelling, measurement for management, and decision making in the management of operations and energy markets. Lilian joined Bayes in 2002. She is Bayes’ first Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion and leads all inclusion and widening participation initiatives. Her term ends in January 2025.

Associate Dean for Research and Enterprise: Professor Bobby Banerjee

Bobby Banerjee is Professor of Management with research and teaching interests in corporate social irresponsibility, unsustainability, climate justice and decolonial resistance movements. He joined Bayes in 2013 and was the founding Director of the Executive PhD program from 2013 to 2018. This is his first term as Associate Dean for Research and Enterprise and he will step down in October 2022.

Associate Dean for UG Programmes: Dr Martin Rich

Martin Rich is Associate Professor (Education) in Information Management. His work explores how the scholarship of teaching and learning relates to management education. In particular, he is interested in how technological innovations support education, what student-centred learning really means, and how students engage with their education over time. He served as Course Director of our successful BSc in Business Management for nine years, overseeing the introduction of numerous pedagogic innovations and a major restructuring. Martin joined Bayes over 20 years ago. This is his first term as Associate Dean for UG Programmes, and it ends in August 2024.

Associate Dean for MSc Programmes: Dr Simone Krummaker

Simone Krummaker is Senior Lecturer in Insurance. Her work is dedicated to bridging the practice-theory gap. Her research interests focus on organisational insurance demand, ESG in insurance, and export credit insurance. She has led the MSc in Insurance and Risk Management until the end of 2021 and her teaching includes a wide range of fundamental and specialist insurance subjects at all academic levels. Simone joined Bayes in September 2018. This is her first term as Associate Dean for MSc Programmes, and it ends August 2024.

Associate Dean for MBA Programmes: Professor Stephen Thomas

Steve Thomas is Professor of Finance. His research and teaching interests include micro and macroeconomics, economic policy, and financial economics. Most recently he has focused on retirement investment solutions and is developing software to help the investment advisory community. For nearly 30 years Steve has worked closely with the UK professional investment industry, in particular the Chartered Financial Analysts UK. He is currently an advisor to several investment funds. Prior to taking up the Associate Dean position, he served as Course Director of the Executive MBA. Steve joined Bayes in 2007. This is his second term as Associate Dean for MBA Programmes, and it ends in summer 2024.

We also have a global advisory board which brings together industry leaders from across the world who help to shape and direct Bayes.